Curriculum 4.0

Curriculum development and skills for the digital age

 

HFD set up the Ad hoc Working Group Curriculum 4.0 in July 2017 for a one-year term. The Working Group was tasked with identifying the common elements of curriculum development against the background of the digital turn and highlighting best practice approaches. To this end, the group worked out which skills and learning concepts today’s students need to also cope with future challenges in society, industry, and research. These considerations yielded hypotheses and action recommendations for reforming curricula. The group produced a series of working and position papers that universities in the process of revising their curricula could use to rethink their degree program concepts as well as for specific curriculum design.

The core of the hypotheses and recommendations the Working Group proposed during the September 18 Thematic Week on the topic of curriculum development and competencies for the digital age [German] consists of creating an agile process that involves all stakeholders and translates the dynamic of digital transformation into a responsive curriculum development effort. For example, belonging to it on an expert communities system level is a future skills agency; on the specialist societies level, frameworks for Curricula 4.0; on the degree program level, skill profiles, and on the university level, the development of fine-grained performance measures.

The Curriculum 4.0 Working Group pursued the work toward its key goal from three different methodological and content-related angles, as follows:  

 

 

 

Best practice approaches as exemplified by data literacy

The survey of best practice approaches in curriculum design was carried out using the contentual data literacy subject field in a study conceived and accompanied substantively by the Working Group. Concentrating on a single subject field helped achieve comparability of the researched concepts.

The study titled Future Skills: Approaches to imparting data literacy in higher education [German] was completed under the aegis of the Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software (IESE) and the German Informatics Society (GI). Using international research and interviews with experts in Germany, Europe and North America, it provides an overview of extant curricular offerings and structures for imparting data literacy. A key finding of the study is that the curricular concepts existing to date are decidedly heterogeneous. While a generalized best practice approach could not be identified in the framework of this current-state analysis, the study nevertheless points to diverse high-level strategies, including ones for implementing interdisciplinary curricula (“general education”) likewise discipline-specific curriculum development. A key finding of the study morphed into a recommendation for creating personnel and spatial structures spanning all disciplines.

Based on the results of the Working Group and this study, a follow-on study will be commissioned to produce a competence framework for data literacy based on the survey data, a systematic review, as well as expert interviews. Once again, deriving general principles for curriculum design in the digital age from the example of the data literacy curricula will be the goal.

 

 

Overarching elements of curriculum development

Developing curricula for a digitalizing society in which fundamental principles of social order are being renegotiated has been called a  “wicked problem”. How to adapt curricula to the acceleration in societal, technological, and scientific framework conditions?

In a series of workshops that built on each other, the Curriculum 4.0 Working Group identified and systematized the impediments to agile development of high-quality curricula. The process used by the Working Group for this was iterative. In one field, in which few scientifically validated experiential values existed previously, the Working Group relied on activating expertise and experience that was as heterogeneous as possible. This was done in the workshops and by letting the community comment on the impetus-like position papers and thus play a role in the development process.

The working papers listed below addressed ideas to the community concerning the challenges and principles of curriculum development for a digitalized daily and working life:

 

 

 

 

Framework for developing curricula in the age of digital transformation

The kick-off paper grappled with developing an orientating framework for curriculum design against the background tension between durable quality control and creating possibility spaces where innovative contents and teaching-learning forms can be flexibly integrated. A framework was proposed rather than a defined set of standards. .

In the Working Group workshops, four aspects were identified as particularly challenging when it comes to designing sustainable curricula: agility and sustainability, the relationship between teaching innovation and accreditation, the development of value-attitude, and the question of meaningful participation in society. Each was subsequently examined in depth in four additional working papers.:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Value-)attitude as important element in developing 21st century skills at university

Two other papers published by the Working Group addressed meta-goals in curriculum development. Thus, the Working Group view is that, to begin with, discussion is needed on how much weight developing value-attitude should carry relative to passing on knowledge and building skills as overarching didactic goals of higher education.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 plus 10 hypotheses on societal trends and the future role of the universities

Finally, the Working Group recommended that the question of whether the didactic objective of “employability” is far-reaching enough ought to be studied, given the ongoing transformation of the nature and place value of work in the digitalization context,. Or should curricula in fact be much more oriented toward competence building that permits meaningful participation in society with heterogeneously distributed relevance of paid work?

Members

Prof. Dr. Peter Baumgartner
Professor of Technology-Assisted Learning and Multimedia, Donau-Universität Krems
Christian Brei
Head of University Development and Administration, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg
Prof. Dr. Angelika C. Bullinger-Hoffmann (Represented by Aline Lohse due to parental leave)
Chair of Ergonomics and Innovation Management, TU Chemnitz
Arne Gerdes
Research Assistant, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science and Department of Physics Didactics, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Prof. Dr. Dr. Friedrich W. Hesse
em. Director of the Leibniz Institute for Knowledge Media (IWM), Tübingen und Vizepräsident der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Sebastian Kuhn, MME
University Medicine of Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
Aline Lohse (representing Prof. Dr. Angelika C. Bullinger-Hoffmann)
Research Assistant and Doctoral Fellow, Chair of Ergonomics and Innovation Management, TU Chemnitz
Prof. Dr. Antje Michel
Professor for Information Didactics and Knowledge Transfer, FH Potsdam
Prof. Dr. Philipp Pohlenz
Professor of University Research and Professionalization of Academic Teaching, Dean of Studies, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
Stefanie Quade
Lecturer Innovation and Project Management & Consulting on E-Didactics at the HWR Berlin, Author of DesignAgility
Prof. Dr. Tobias Seidl
Professorship for Key and Self Competences, Hochschule der Medien Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Birgit Spinath
Vice President German Society of Psychology, Chair of Educational Psychology, Universität Heidelberg

Curriculum 4.0

Curriculumentwicklung und Kompetenzen für das digitale Zeitalter

Die Ad-Hoc AG Curriculum 4.0 des Hochschulforums Digitalisierung wurde im Juli 2017 für die Dauer eines Jahres eingesetzt. Ziel der Arbeitsgruppe war es, übergreifende Elemente der Curriculumentwicklung vor dem Hintergrund des digitalen Wandels zu identifizieren sowie Good Practice-Ansätze aufzuzeigen. Hierfür arbeitete die Gruppe heraus, welche Kompetenzen und Lernkonzepte Studierende von heute brauchen, um auch zukünftig Herausforderungen in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft bewältigen zu können. Aus diesen Überlegungen leiten sich Thesen und Handlungsempfehlungen zur Reform von Curricula ab. Die Arbeitsgruppe hat eineReihe von Diskussions- und Empfehlungspapieren erarbeitet, die Hochschulen im Überarbeitungsprozess ihrer Curricula zur Reflexion ihrer Studiengangskonzepte sowie zur konkreten Curriculumgestaltung nutzen können.

Im Kern ihrer zur Themenwoche im September 2018 vorgelegten Thesen und Empfehlungen zu Curriculumentwicklung und Kompetenzen für das digitale Zeitalter steht die Schaffung eines agilen Prozesses, der alle Stakeholder einbindet und die Dynamik der digitalen Transformation in eine responsive Curriculumentwicklung übersetzt. Zum Beispiel gehören hierzu auf Systemebene Experten-Communitys, eine Future Skills-Agentur, auf Ebene der Fachgesellschaften Frameworks für Curricula 4.0, auf Studiengangsebene Kompetenzprofile und auf Hochschulebene die Entwicklung kleingliedriger Leistungsnachweise.

Die AG Curriculum 4.0 hat die Bearbeitung ihrer zentralen Zielstellung in drei verschiedenen methodischen und inhaltlichen Zugängen verfolgt:

Good Practice-Ansätze am Beispiel von Data Literacy

Die Erhebung von Good Practice-Ansätzen der Curriculumgestaltung wurde anhand des inhaltlichen Themenfeldes Data Literacy in einer durch die AG konzipierten und inhaltlich begleiteten Studie vollzogen. Durch die Konzentration auf ein Themenfeld wurde eine Vergleichbarkeit der recherchierten Konzepte erreicht.

Die Studie Future Skills: Ansätze zur Vermittlung von Data-Literacy in der Hochschulbildung wurde federführend vom Fraunhofer IESE und der Gesellschaft für Informatik erarbeitet. Die Studie bietet anhand einer internationalen Recherche und von Interviews mit Sachverständigen in Deutschland, Europa und Nordamerika einen Überblick über bestehende curriculare Angebote und Strukturen zur Vermittlung von Data Literacy. Ein zentrales Ergebnis der Studie ist, dass die bisher existierenden curricularen Konzepte strukturell ausgesprochen heterogen sind. Ein verallgemeinerbares Good Practice-Vorgehen bei der Curriculumgestaltung konnte im Rahmen dieser Ist-Stand-Analyse zwar nicht identifiziert werden, allerdings zeigt die Studie verschiedene übergeordnete Strategien auf: Dazu zählen die Implementierung von interdisziplinären Curricula („Studium Generale”) ebenso wie eine disziplinenspezifische Curriculumentwicklung. Ein zentrales Ergebnis der Studie ist, die Schaffung von fachübergreifenden personellen und räumlichen Strukturen zu empfehlen.

Auf Grundlage der Ergebnisse der Arbeitsgruppe und der Studie wird nun eine Folgestudie stattfinden, die mittels der erhobenen Daten, eines systematischen Reviews sowie von Interviews mit Sachverständigen einen Kompetenzrahmen für Data Literacy erarbeiten wird. Auch hier sollen wieder anhand der Data Literacy-Curricula exemplarisch allgemeine Prinzipien zur Gestaltung von Curricula im digitalen Zeitalter abgeleitet werden.

Übergreifende Elemente der Curriculumentwicklung

Die Entwicklung von Curricula für eine in Transformation begriffene digitalisierte Gesellschaft, in der grundsätzliche Prinzipien der sozialen Ordnung im erneuten Aushandlungsprozess begriffen sind, ist ein „wicked problem”. Wie können Curricula an die zunehmende Beschleunigung der gesellschaftlichen, technischen und wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen angepasst werden?

In verschiedenen aufeinander aufbauenden Workshops hat die AG Curriculum 4.0 Herausforderungen für die agile Entwicklung qualitätsvoller Curricula identifiziert und systematisiert. Das Vorgehen der AG war dabei iterativ. In einem Feld, in dem bisher wenig wissenschaftlich belegte Erfahrungswerte vorliegen, setzte die AG auf die Aktivierung möglichst heterogener Expertise und Erfahrung. Dies geschah durch Workshops sowie durch die Einbeziehung der Community in Form von Möglichkeiten, sich am Entwicklungsprozess durch die Kommentierung der impulsartigen Thesenpapiere zu beteiligen.

Mit den im Folgenden aufgeführten Diskussionspapieren hat die AG Impulse zu Herausforderungen und Prinzipien der Curriculumentwicklung für eine digitalisierte Lebens- und Arbeitswelt an die Community adressiert:

Framework zur Entwicklung von Curricula im Zeitalter der digitalen Transformation 

Das Auftaktpapier setzt sich mit der Entwicklung eines Orientierungsrahmens für die Gestaltung von Curricula vor dem Hintergrund des Spannungsfeldes der nachhaltigen Qualitätssicherung und der Schaffung von Möglichkeitsräumen für die flexible Integration innovativer Inhalte und Lehr-Lernformen auseinander. In Abgrenzung zur Orientierung an definierten Standards wurde der Vorschlag eines Frameworks unterbreitet.

Vier Aspekte wurden in den Workshops der AG als besondere Herausforderungen für die Gestaltung zukunftsfähiger Curricula identifiziert und in der Folge in vier weiteren Diskussionspapieren eingehender betrachtet: Agilität und Nachhaltigkeit, das Verhältnis von Lehrinnovation und Akkreditierung, die Entwicklung von Wert-Haltung sowie die Frage nach sinnerfüllter Teilhabe an der Gesellschaft.

(Wert-)Haltung als wichtiger Bestandteil der Entwicklung von 21st Century Skills an der Hochschule 

Zwei weitere bereits veröffentlichte Diskussionspapiere der Arbeitsgruppe adressieren didaktische Metaziele der Curriculumentwicklung. So ist nach Auffassung der AG zunächst zu diskutieren, welchen Stellenwert die Entwicklung von Wert-Haltungen neben der Vermittlung von Wissen und dem Aufbau von Kompetenzen als übergeordnetes didaktisches Ziel der Hochschulbildung einnehmen sollte.

3 Plus 10 Thesen zu gesellschaftlichen Trends und der zukünftigen Rolle der Hochschulen 

Zudem ist vor dem Hintergrund der Transformation des Wesens und des Stellenwerts von Arbeit im Rahmen der Digitalisierung zu prüfen, inwiefern das didaktische Ziel der „Employability" weit genug greift oder ob Curricula nicht vielmehr nach dem Aufbau von Fähigkeiten zur sinnerfüllten Teilhabe an Gesellschaft mit heterogen verteilter Relevanz von Lohnarbeit ausgerichtet werden sollten.

Mitglieder

Prof. Dr. Peter Baumgartner
Professor für technologieunterstütztes Lernen und Multimedia, Donau-Universität Krems
Christian Brei
Leiter der Universitätsentwicklung und Verwaltung, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg
Prof. Dr. Angelika C. Bullinger-Hoffmann (Elternzeitbedingt vertreten durch Aline Lohse)
Professur Arbeitswissenschaft und Innovationsmanagement, TU Chemnitz
Arne Gerdes
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik sowie Abteilung Didaktik der Physik, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Prof. Dr. Dr. Friedrich W. Hesse
em. Direktor des Leibniz-Instituts für Wissensmedien (IWM), Tübingen und Vizepräsident der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Sebastian Kuhn, MME
Universitätsmedizin der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
Aline Lohse (Vertretung Prof. Dr. Angelika C. Bullinger-Hoffmann)
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Promovendin, Professur Arbeitswissenschaft und Innovationsmanagement, TU Chemnitz
Prof. Dr. Antje Michel
Professorin für Informationsdidaktik und Wissenstransfer, FH Potsdam
Prof. Dr. Philipp Pohlenz
Professor für Hochschulforschung und Professionalisierung der akademischen Lehre, Studiendekan, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
Stefanie Quade
Dozentin Innovations- und Projektmanagement & Beratung zu E-Didaktik an der HWR Berlin, Autorin DesignAgility
Prof. Dr. Tobias Seidl
Professur für Schlüssel- und Selbstkompetenzen, Hochschule der Medien Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Birgit Spinath
Vizepräsidentin Deutsche Gesellschaft für Psychologie, Professur für Pädagogische Psychologie, Universität Heidelberg