Digital Accessibility Working Group

The Digital Accessibility WG is located at the Hochschulforum Digitalisierung (HFD) in the Innovation Hub and is an important component of the Digital Participation work area. The WG members are proven experts in the field of digital accessibility and have set themselves the goal of developing measures and tools that promote digital accessibility in teaching and learning and strengthen its structural anchoring at universities.



EU Directive 2016/2102 requires universities to make their digital offerings accessible. At federal and state level, the directive is implemented by the Barrier-Free Information Technology Ordinance (BITV 2.0). This applies to web presences and mobile applications as well as digital administrative processes and software. At universities, campus and teaching/learning management systems and intranet applications are added to the mix. Furthermore, the barrier-free preparation of teaching materials as well as the methodological-didactic design of (teaching) events is of particular relevance in order to offer not only students and employees with physical disabilities, but all university members an inclusive and enriching working, teaching and research environment.


The goals of the Digital Accessibility WG are to make university administrations even more aware of the comprehensive and holistic implementation of digital accessibility and to provide them with information and consulting formats for this purpose. For this purpose, the Working Group develops

  • Information and strategy workshops for university managements and university politics
  • A working paper that provides information and assistance to those responsible at universities on how digital accessibility can be strategically anchored and implemented.

The aim is not only to ensure compliance with the legal framework, but also to highlight the added value of barrier-free offerings for all university members.

Past events:

Interview mit Monica Gross zur AG Digitale Barrierefreiheit - U:FF 2023

AG-Mitglieder Digital Accessibility:

Portrait von Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Monika Gross

AG-Vorsitzende Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Monika Gross

Professorin für Zell- und Molekularbiologie; Berliner Hochschule für Technik

Bender Portrait

Dr. Carsten Bender

TU Dortmund/Zentrum für Hochschulbildung (zhb), Leiter Bereich Behinderung und Studium (DoBus)

Portrait von Stefanie Dreieck

Dr. Stefanie Dreiack

Koordinierungsstelle Chancengleichheit Sachsen, Koordinatorin für Inklusion

Portrait von Victoria Engels

Victoria Engels

Studentin und Mitglied des Studierendenrats der Universität Heidelberg sowie der AG Barrierefreiheit

Portrait von Björn Fisseler

Dr. Björn Fisseler

FernUniversität Hagen, Dekanat der Fakultät für Psychologie, Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Fachmediendidaktik


Jens Kaffenberger

Deutsches Studierendenwerk, Referatsleiter Informations- und Beratungsstelle Studium und Behinderung (IBS)

Portrait von Kostädt

Dr. Peter Kostädt

Universität Potsdam, Chief Information Officer, Mitglied Steuerungsgruppe Digitale Barrierefreiheit

Portrait von MAyer zu Bexten

Prof. Dr. Erdmuthe Meyer zu Bexten

Hessisches Ministerium für Soziales und Integration/Regierungspräsidium Gießen, Landesbeauftragte für barrierefreie IT, Leiterin Landeskompetenzzentrum für barrierefreie IT und der Durchsetzungs- und Überwachungsstelle barrierefreie IT (LBIT)

Genderneutraler Avatar

Linda Rustemeier

Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/HessenHub (ehemals digLL Hessen) Mitarbeiterin in der Medienproduktion und - didaktik und im Innovationsforum Barrierefreiheit (HessenHub), Tutor:innenqualifizierung, promovierend zu Serious Games

Portrait von Thorsten Schwarz

Dr. Thorsten Schwarz

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Mitarbeiter Studienzentrum für Sehgeschädigte, Leiter Barrierefreie Literaturaufbereitung, Leiter Accessibility Lab des KIT

Genderneutraler Avatar

Prof. Dr. Benjamin Tannert

Hochschule Bremen, Professor für angewandte Medieninformatik, Leitung des Instituts für Digitale Teilhabe

Genderneutraler Avatar

Prof. Dr. rer.nat. habil. Gerhard Weber

TU Dresden, Professor für Mensch-Computer-Interaktion, Beauftragter für Studierende mit Behinderung und chronische Erkrankung

Portrait von Gottfried Zimmermann

Prof. Dr. Gottfried Zimmermann

Forschung, Lehre und Standardisierung in allen Bereichen der digitalen Barrierefreiheit